Home/Health insurance
Aditya Birla logoHealth insurance review · 2026

Aditya Birla Activ Yuva

Aditya Birla's plan for young buyers. Yuva Credit adds 100% of the base sum insured at every renewal, claim or no claim, up to 1000%, and the first claim in the life of the policy can use twice the base cover. There is no room-rent cap and no standing co-payment, and consumables are paid. An admission of 2 consecutive hours can qualify, though AYUSH needs 24 hours and a short stay that could have been treated as an out-patient is not paid. HealthReturns can pay back up to 100% of the premium, but only a Green health score can reach it, by way of 13 or more active days every month and 325 in the year. OPD, maternity, Income Protect and the full health check-up are paid add-ons.

Read from Aditya Birla Health Insurance Company Limited's own policy wording and prospectus. Last checked against those documents on . The wording you are issued is the contract.

Talk to an advisor about this planCompare with other plans

Watch the video review

Watch: our video review of Activ Yuva (8 min). Open the video page
What this video covers (18 chapters)
  1. 0:00Aditya Birla Activ Yuva review
  2. 0:41Key features
  3. 1:01The bonus: how far ₹10 lakh can grow
  4. 1:192X cover on the first claim
  5. 1:33Health Returns: the renewal discount
  6. 1:54Add-on 1: OPD cover
  7. 2:43Add-on 2: maternity cover
  8. 3:08Add-on 3: Income Protect
  9. 3:22Add-on 4: health check-up
  10. 3:38Waiting periods
  11. 4:10Key exclusions, and when a co-payment applies
  12. 4:47Premium for a 30-year-old couple in Mumbai
  13. 5:14Bonus cap and premium zones
  14. 5:43Health Returns: green, amber and red
  15. 6:21What it takes to get 100% off
  16. 7:00Claim settlement ratio and complaints (IRDAI data)
  17. 7:45Who should buy it, and who should skip it
  18. 8:03Book a free call with a nyvo advisor
01The detail

Activ Yuva in one table

Claim settlement ratio
96.5%FY 2024–25
Meets the recommended 93%
Complaints per 10,000 claims
18.2
Above the recommended limit of 10
InsurerAditya Birla Health Insurance Company Limited
Sum insured₹5 lakh to ₹1 crore, in tiers of 5 / 10 / 15 / 20 / 25 / 50 lakh and 1 crore, or an Unlimited option (Yuva Credit and Yuva Reload do not apply to Unlimited)
Entry ageAdults 18 to 65; children from 91 days

Claim settlement and complaint figures are IRDAI-published and held centrally by nyvo, not taken from the insurer's marketing.

02Cover

What Activ Yuva covers

These are the terms that decide what you are actually paid when you claim. Room rent, co-pay and restoration do more to shape a settlement than the sum insured does, and they are read from Aditya Birla's own policy wording.

FeatureThis planWhat good looks like
Co-paymentNone as a standing rule, at any age or in any city. Three conditional ones apply: 10% if a stay longer than 7 days is not reported within 7 days of admission (9 days after a road accident), 20% on an organ transplant at a non-network hospital when the notice or biopsy rules are missed, and 20% on OPD add-on claims paid by reimbursementNo Co-payment
Room Rent LimitNo cap: room rent and ICU charges at actual cost, any room, up to the sum insured. The optional Room Rent Type Option limits the room category to a single private AC room or shared accommodationNo room rent capping
Disease sub-limitNone on covered hospital treatment. Day care, listed modern procedures, mental illness, HIV/AIDS and STD, bariatric surgery that meets the policy's conditions, road and air ambulance, and the organ donor's in-patient costs are each paid at actuals up to the sum insured. Named treatment exclusions still apply, and sub-limits sit only inside optional covers: OPD, durable equipment and egg freezingNo sub-limit
Yuva Credit (annual bonus)100% of the base sum insured added at every renewal without a break, whether or not you claimed, up to 1000%. A ₹10 lakh base becomes ₹1.1 crore of cover in year 11. Built in, but it does not apply if you choose Unlimited sum insured50% each year (Minimum upto 100%)
Yuva Reload (restoration)The first admissible claim in the life of the policy can use twice the base sum insured. After that the base cover refills an unlimited number of times a year, for the same illness or a different one, and what Yuva Reload pays on any single claim cannot exceed the base sum insured. Not available with Unlimited sum insured100% restoration once in a year
Minimum hospitalisation2 consecutive hours (24 hours for AYUSH, no minimum for day care). A medically managed, non-surgical stay under 24 hours that could have been treated as an out-patient is not paid24 hours is the usual minimum
Pre-Hospitalization90 days, up to the sum insuredAt least 60 days
Post-Hospitalization180 days, up to the sum insuredAt least 120 days
Consumables (Claim Protect)Built in. Every non-medical item on all four lists of Annexure I is paid on an admissible claimConsumables covered
Day-Care TreatmentAll day care treatments covered up to the sum insured, with no procedure listCovered without a capped list
AYUSH TreatmentIn-patient treatment at an AYUSH hospital or AYUSH day care centre, up to the sum insured, after an admission of at least 24 hoursIncluded
AmbulanceRoad and air ambulance within India, at actuals up to the sum insured. Air ambulance only when the treatment you need is not available where you areIncluded
Home Health Care and DomiciliaryBoth up to the sum insured. Home health care is cashless only, through the insurer's network, in select cities. Domiciliary treatment must run at least 3 consecutive daysIncluded
Annual Health Check-upNot built in. The Yuva Health Check-up is an optional cover. What is built in is a yearly Health Assessment, a digital face scan or a physical test of blood pressure, blood sugar and cholesterol, which sets your Healthy Heart Score for HealthReturnsIncluded
HealthReturnsUp to 100% of the premium back as rewards. Only a Green Healthy Heart Score can reach 100%. The wording's route is 13 or more Active Dayz every month (30%) plus 325 in the year (20% at 275, 50% at 325), and the total, boosters included, is capped at 100%. The grids top out at 40% for Amber and 20% for Red, and EAT and HEAL boosters add up to a quarter more to what is earned. Spend it on renewal or on OPD and other health costsWellness reward available
Entry ageAdults 18 to 65 at entry, renewable for life. Children 91 days to 25 years on a floater or multi-individual policyNo maximum entry age
What this plan does
03Add-ons

Activ Yuva add-ons you can buy with it

Each of these costs extra and each has its own conditions. Some are genuinely worth it; several exist to patch a gap in the base plan. Ask what each one adds before it goes on your quote.

OPD Cover
A yearly wallet worth up to 5X your base premium for doctor consultations (35% of the wallet), prescribed tests (25%), dental care, physiotherapy, pharmacy and vision aids (10% each), plus diet, mental wellbeing and gym access. It is cashless through the insurer's app, starts after 30 days, and a reimbursement claim, allowed only when cashless is not available, carries a 20% co-payment.
Worldwide Yuva Maternity Cover
₹1, 1.5 or 2 lakh, anywhere in the world, for one delivery (normal or caesarean), 180 days of care before and after it, IVF, IUI and other assisted reproduction, egg freezing up to 30% of the maternity limit, and legal adoption costs up to ₹50,000. The wait is 1, 2 or 3 years as you choose, and it can be opted between 18 and 45. A wait served while single carries over to a spouse added later; a claim is paid for a woman covered as the legally married spouse of the primary insured.
Newborn Baby Cover
Hospital costs for a newborn from birth to day 90, up to ₹50,000, ₹1 lakh or ₹2 lakh. Only available with the maternity cover, and only once the mother's delivery claim is admitted.
Income Protect Cover
A lump sum of ₹50,000 or ₹1 lakh if you are in hospital for at least 7 continuous days and your doctor certifies you unfit to work. Paid once a policy year, and not for childbirth or mental illness.
Yuva Health Check-up
Once a year for anyone 18 or over, after 3 months of cover, cashless only: a blood and urine panel (including cholesterol, blood sugar, thyroid profile, vitamin B12 and vitamin D), one dental and one eye consultation.
Reduction in Pre-Existing Disease waiting period
Cuts the 2-year pre-existing disease wait to 1 year. It can only be chosen when you first take the policy, and its premium must be paid for two years in a row.
Reduction in Specific Disease waiting period
Cuts the 2-year wait on the named list of conditions and surgeries to 1 year, on the same terms: chosen at inception, paid for two years.
Lifestyle Management Program
Cashless coaching, doctor consultations and tests for up to 3 declared lifestyle conditions, such as obesity, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes or prediabetes, asthma, PCOD, or quitting smoking or alcohol.
Durable Equipment Cover
Buying or renting a ventilator, wheelchair, prosthetic device, suction machine, commode chair, infusion pump, oxygen concentrator or a CPM device after knee replacement, up to ₹5 lakh, when a doctor prescribes it during, or within 30 days after, an admitted hospital, domiciliary or home care claim, and you buy or rent it within 30 days of the prescription. What it pays comes out of your base sum insured.
Compassionate Visit
Up to ₹50,000 of return fare for one close family member when you are admitted away from your home city for more than 10 days.
FitForward Premium
A wellness pack in Basic, Elite or Ultra variants: a fitness wearable in the first year, app challenges with rewards, mental wellbeing consultations triggered by the wearable's stress readings, and 4 AYUSH teleconsultations a year. Its premium does not qualify for the health insurance tax deduction.
Room Rent Type Option (this reduces your cover)
Limits the room you can claim for to a single private AC room or shared accommodation. It puts back the room cap the base plan does not have.
04Price

Activ Yuva discounts you can ask for

Published discounts on this plan. Most are applied at quote stage rather than offered, so it is worth naming the ones you qualify for. Every figure is a ceiling, not a promise: what you actually get depends on the case.

DiscountWorthWhen it applies
HealthReturnsUp to 100% of premiumNot a discount at purchase but a reward earned through a Green Healthy Heart Score and steady activity, spendable on renewal or on health costs. The 100% is counted on the base premium plus four optional covers, not on OPD, maternity, Income Protect or FitForward premium.
Family discountUp to 25%For two or more members on one policy.
Long-term discountUp to 15%Up to 7.5% on a 2-year policy, up to 10% on 3 years, up to 12% on 4 years and up to 15% on 5 years.
TravelCredits (ON/OFF)Up to 15%For an adult who switches their domestic cover off in the app while abroad: up to 3% of that year's base premium for 15 to 29 days, rising in steps to up to 15% for 75 to 90 days, taken off the next renewal.
Upfront good health discountUp to 25%First year only. The prospectus lists it without setting out who qualifies, so ask what applies to you at proposal.

From the Activ Yuva prospectus, Section H, and the policy wording's ON/OFF and HealthReturns sections.

05Waiting periods

Activ Yuva waiting periods: when each part of the cover starts

Waiting periods run from the day cover began, not from the day you fall ill, and they run in parallel rather than one after another.

Initial Waiting Period30 days, except for accidents
Specific Illness24 months, or 1 year with the reduction option bought at inception
Pre-Existing Disease24 months, or 1 year with the reduction option bought at inception
Maternity add-on1, 2 or 3 years, as you choose
OPD add-on30 days

The named illnesses that wait 24 months

Taken from the Activ Yuva policy wording, section D.1.2. These wait 24 months from the start of your first policy, or 1 year with the reduction option. An accident is covered from day one. If the same condition is also pre-existing, the longer of the two waits applies. Indicative list: the wording carries the full set.

Indicative listFrom the policy wording. Your own document governs.
01Eye: cataract, glaucoma and surgery to correct refractive error
02Ear, nose and throat: sinusitis, rhinitis, tonsillitis, adenoiditis, a deviated nasal septum, otitis media, mastoiditis and cholesteatoma
03Women's health: fibroids, PCOD, endometriosis, uterine prolapse, heavy or irregular bleeding, pelvic inflammatory disease and non-cancerous breast lumps
04Bones and joints: gout, rheumatoid and other non-infective arthritis, osteoarthritis, osteoporosis, a slipped disc, spondylosis, ligament, tendon or meniscus tears, and joint replacement
05Digestive: gallstones, cholecystitis, pancreatitis, piles, fissure, fistula, ulcers and gastritis, GERD, cirrhosis and chronic appendicitis
06Urinary and reproductive: stones in the kidney, ureter or bladder, an enlarged prostate, hernia, hydrocele and varicocele
07Skin and general surgery: all skin diseases, and non-cancerous swellings, cysts, polyps or lumps anywhere in the body
08Varicose veins and varicose ulcers
06Exclusions

Activ Yuva exclusions: what the plan will not pay for

Every policy carries exclusions, and they are the clauses people read for the first time at claim stage. These are the ones worth knowing before you buy.

Not coveredIndicative, not exhaustive. Your policy wording is the contract.
01Childbirth and termination of pregnancy, unless the maternity add-on covers them, and miscarriage other than after an accident. An ectopic pregnancy is paid under hospitalisation
02Infertility treatment and assisted reproduction such as IVF, unless the maternity add-on covers it, and surrogacy in every case
03Treatment outside India, other than under the maternity add-on
04Named treatments: RFQMR, ECP and EECP, hyperbaric oxygen therapy, KTP laser, Cyber Knife, femto laser surgery, bioabsorbable stents, valves and implants, radiofrequency probe ablation, and the drugs Infliximab, Rituximab, Avastin and Lucentis
05Off-label use of a drug or procedure, and any treatment or medicine not approved by CDSCO, the FDA or another relevant regulator
06An admission mainly for tests and evaluation, and rest cure, rehabilitation, respite or custodial care
07Cosmetic or plastic surgery, unless it rebuilds you after an accident, burn or cancer, or removes an immediate health risk
08Treatment needed because you took part in a hazardous or adventure sport as a professional
09Hearing aids, spectacles, contact lenses and external equipment such as wheelchairs, unless the Durable Equipment add-on covers the item
10Treatment at a provider the insurer has excluded, beyond stabilisation in a life-threatening case
07The honest bit

Where Activ Yuva falls short

No plan is right for everyone, and a page that only lists strengths is not much use to you. These are the gaps we would raise on a call before recommending it.

Worth knowing before you buyNone of these are dealbreakers on their own. They are the trade-offs this plan asks you to accept.
01The 100% premium back is a ceiling, not a typical result. Only a Green Healthy Heart Score can reach it, and the wording's route is 13 or more Active Dayz every month plus 325 in the year; on the grids, Amber tops out at 40% and Red at 20%. The 100% is also counted on the base premium and four optional covers, not on what you pay for OPD, maternity, Income Protect or FitForward.
02There is no standing co-payment, but the wording adds three conditional ones: 10% if a stay longer than 7 days is not reported within 7 days of admission (9 days after a road accident), 20% on an organ transplant at a non-network hospital when the notice or biopsy rules are missed, and 20% on OPD claims paid by reimbursement.
03The wording names treatments it will not pay for, including Cyber Knife, hyperbaric oxygen therapy, bioabsorbable stents, radiofrequency ablation and the drugs Rituximab, Avastin and Lucentis, while its modern-treatment list covers stereotactic radiosurgery, monoclonal antibody injections and intravitreal injections. Ask Aditya Birla in writing which clause applies before a planned treatment.
04The wording also lets the insurer publish position statements on specific treatments. Where it denies or limits payment for one, it will at a minimum pay up to the cost of the standard alternative treatment. Off-label use of any drug is excluded outright.
05Choose the Unlimited sum insured option and you lose both Yuva Credit and Yuva Reload.
06A full health check-up is not in the base plan. The built-in Health Assessment exists to set your HealthReturns score; the Yuva Health Check-up is a paid option.
07Maternity is a paid add-on capped at ₹1 lakh to ₹2 lakh for one delivery, and it pays for a woman covered as the legally married spouse of the primary insured. Without it, childbirth is excluded, and there is no cover abroad outside that add-on.
08FAQs

Activ Yuva questions, answered

Is Aditya Birla Activ Yuva a good health insurance plan?

It is a strong plan for a young, healthy buyer who will track their activity. The wording gives no room-rent cap, no standing co-payment, consumables paid, 90 days before and 180 days after an admission, a 2-year pre-existing disease wait, cover that grows by 100% of the base each year to 1000%, and twice the cover on the first claim. The 100% premium back needs a Green health score and 325 active days a year, and OPD, maternity and the full health check-up cost extra.

How does Yuva Credit grow my cover?

By 100% of your base sum insured at every renewal, whether or not you claimed, up to 1000%. A ₹10 lakh base reaches ₹1.1 crore of cover in year 11, and a ₹20 lakh base reaches ₹2.2 crore. It accrues only while you renew without a break, it shrinks in proportion if you cut the base cover at renewal, and it does not apply if you choose Unlimited sum insured.

What does 2X cover on the first claim mean in Activ Yuva?

Your very first admissible claim in the life of the policy can use twice the base sum insured. It happens once per policy, not once a year. From the second claim on, Yuva Reload refills the base cover an unlimited number of times a year, for the same illness or another, and what it pays on any single claim cannot exceed the base sum insured. Neither applies if you choose Unlimited sum insured.

How do I get 100% of my premium back with HealthReturns?

Only a Green Healthy Heart Score can reach 100%. The wording's route is 13 or more Active Dayz every month and at least 325 Active Dayz in the policy year: 30% comes from the monthly grid, 20% from reaching 275 days and 50% from reaching 325, and the total, boosters included, is capped at 100%. An Active Day is 10,000 steps, 300 calories in one session, 30 minutes at a partner gym or yoga centre, or a recognised marathon, walkathon or cyclothon. Amber tops out at 40% and Red at 20% on the grids.

Can HealthReturns be used as a discount on renewal?

Yes. HealthReturns you have not spent are adjusted against your next renewal premium, up to the previous year's premium, after any TravelCredits. During the year you can instead spend them on OPD bills, a fitness wearable, gym and wellness costs, AYUSH treatment beyond your limit, or a hospital bill once the sum insured runs out, with up to four reimbursement claims a year.

What are the waiting periods in Activ Yuva?

30 days for any illness other than an accident, 24 months for a named list of conditions and surgeries, and 24 months for pre-existing diseases. Both 24-month waits can be cut to 1 year if you buy the reduction options when you first take the policy and pay for them for two years. The maternity add-on has its own wait of 1, 2 or 3 years, as you choose.

Is there any co-payment in Activ Yuva?

Not as a standing rule. The wording adds three conditional ones: 10% of the claim if you stay in hospital more than 7 days and do not tell the insurer within 7 days of admission (9 days after a road accident), 20% on an organ transplant at a non-network hospital if the notice or biopsy rules are missed, and 20% on OPD add-on claims paid by reimbursement because cashless was not available.

Does Activ Yuva cover maternity?

Only through the optional Worldwide Yuva Maternity Cover. It pays ₹1, 1.5 or 2 lakh, anywhere in the world, for one delivery, 180 days of care before and after it, IVF and other assisted reproduction, and adoption costs up to ₹50,000, after a wait of 1, 2 or 3 years. You can start the wait while single and it carries over to a spouse added later, but a claim is paid for a woman covered as the legally married spouse of the primary insured, so ask how that applies to you before you buy.

Does Activ Yuva include a free annual health check-up?

Not a full one. A yearly Health Assessment is built in, either a digital face scan in the app or a physical test of blood pressure, blood sugar and cholesterol, and its job is to set your Healthy Heart Score for HealthReturns. The comprehensive Yuva Health Check-up, with a blood panel and a dental and an eye consultation, is an optional cover you pay for.

What is the ON/OFF feature in Activ Yuva?

It lets an adult switch off their own domestic cover in the app while abroad for at least 15 days and earn TravelCredits off the next renewal: up to 3% of the base premium for 15 to 29 days, rising in steps to up to 15% for 75 to 90 days. Boarding passes must be uploaded within 72 hours of leaving and of returning. While cover is off, no claim is paid for that person except under the maternity add-on, and waiting periods keep running.

What is the age limit for Activ Yuva?

Adults can join from 18 to 65 and renew for life, according to the Activ Yuva prospectus, and children join from 91 days to 25 years on a floater or multi-individual policy. The plan is pitched at young buyers and the maternity add-on can only be chosen between 18 and 45, so confirm the age your quote accepts before you plan around a later entry.

09Source documents

Read it from the insurer

We summarise. The policy wording is the contract, and it is the only document that settles a dispute. These links go to the insurer's own pages.

Activ Yuva policy wording (UIN ADIHLIP27047V012627)PDF ↗
Activ Yuva brochurePDF ↗
Find a network hospitalLocator ↗
10Read next

Understand the terms before you commit

A plan page tells you what this policy does. These explain why each term matters and what it costs you when it is missing.

11Same insurer

Other Aditya Birla plans we have read

Aditya Birla files these separately, and the terms differ between them. If you are choosing within the range, compare the waiting periods and the exclusions rather than the sum insured.

Is Activ Yuva the right plan for you?

A salaried, IRDAI-certified nyvo advisor will look at what you already have, tell you where this plan fits and where it does not. Free, and with no obligation to buy.

Book a free call

Looking at Aditya Birla Health Insurance more broadly? Read our full Aditya Birla Health Insurance health insurance review for their claim record, complaint ratio and every plan we cover.

Dealing with a claim? How a Aditya Birla Health Insurance claim works, or their customer care and escalation route.

Aditya Birla Activ Yuva Review 2026 | nyvo insurance