Compare term insurance plans in India, side by side
All 32 term plans we have read from the insurers' own documents, in one table: who can buy each one, how long the cover can run, whether there's a return-of-premium version, which riders our records list, and how the insurer handles claims.
What should you compare first?
The insurer, then the plan, then the price. Your family makes a term claim, perhaps thirty years from now, so start with how the insurer treats claims. Then check the plan fits you: your age has to sit inside its entry ages, and its cover has to run until your last loan is paid and your children can stand on their own. Our guide to choosing how long term cover should run works that age out. Riders and payout options come next, and price comes last.
Why look past the claim settlement ratio?
Because it hardly varies. Across the 14 insurers in this table that have one, the ratio runs from 98.2% to 99.6% of death claims, which barely separates them. Complaints run from 1.33 to 95.67 per 10,000 claims (both from IRDAI published data for the last three financial years, latest available as of March 2026), so read that column too. We weigh both when we rate a plan, along with the insurer's strength, the plan's features and riders, and its premium; the method is on how we pick plans, and the five plans we rate are in our best term insurance plans for 2026.
32 term insurance plans, A to Z by insurer
Each plan links to its full page: variants, riders, exclusions and the insurer's documents. On a phone, the table scrolls sideways inside its box.
| Insurer and plan | Entry age | Longest cover | Return-of-premium version | Riders in our record | Claim settlement ratio | Complaints per 10,000 claims |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acko LifeFlexi Term Plan | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not listed | Too new to have one | Too new to have one |
| Aditya Birla Sun LifeDigiShield Plan | 18 to 65 | Age 100 | Yes | Not listed | 98.5% | 2.33 |
| Aditya Birla Sun LifeLife Shield Plan | 18 to 65 | Age 85 | Not stated | Not listed | 98.5% | 2.33 |
| Aditya Birla Sun LifeSalaried Term Plan | 21 to 55 | Age 75 | Yes | Not listed | 98.5% | 2.33 |
| Aditya Birla Sun LifeSuper Term Plan | 18 to 65 | Age 85 | No | Accident and disability | 98.5% | 2.33 |
| Axis Max LifeSmart Secure Plus Plan | 18 to 65 | Age 85 | Yes | Not listed | 99.3% | 7.0 |
| Axis Max LifeSmart Term Plan PlusRated in our best plans | 18 to 65 | Age 100 | Yes | Critical illness, accident, disability, waiver of premium and 1 more | 99.3% | 7.0 |
| Axis Max LifeSmart Total Elite Protection Plan | 18 to 65 | Age 85 | No | Not listed | 99.3% | 7.0 |
| Bajaj LifeeTouch IIRated in our best plans | 18 to 65 | Age 99 | Yes | Critical illness, accident, disability and 2 more | 99.2% | 3.95 |
| Bajaj LifeiSecure II | 18 to 65 | Age 85 | Yes | Critical illness, accident, disability and 1 more | 99.2% | 3.95 |
| Bandhan LifeiTerm Prime | 18 to 65 | Age 85 | No | Not listed | 99.6% | 39.67 |
| Bharti AXA LifeFlexi Term Pro | 18 to 65 | Age 99 | No | Not listed | 99.1% | 95.67 |
| Canara HSBC LifeiSelect Smart360 Term Plan | 18 to 65 | Age 99 | Yes | Not listed | 99.3% | 17.67 |
| Canara HSBC LifeYoung Term Plan | 18 to 60 | Age 99 | Yes | Not listed | 99.3% | 17.67 |
| Go Digit LifeDigit Glow Plus | 18 to 65 | Age 85 | Yes | Not listed | Too new to have one | Too new to have one |
| HDFC LifeClick 2 Protect Elite Plus | 18 to 45 | Age 85 | Yes | Not listed | 99.6% | 1.33 |
| HDFC LifeClick 2 Protect Life | 18 to 65 | Age 85, or whole of life | No | Not listed | 99.6% | 1.33 |
| HDFC LifeClick 2 Protect Super | 18 to 84* | Age 85 | Yes | Not listed | 99.6% | 1.33 |
| HDFC LifeClick 2 Protect Supreme PlusRated in our best plans | 18 to 84* | Age 85 | Not stated | Critical illness, accident, waiver of premium and 3 more | 99.6% | 1.33 |
| HDFC LifeClick 2 Protect Ultimate | 18 to 50 | Age 85 | Yes | Not listed | 99.6% | 1.33 |
| ICICI PrudentialiProtect Smart PlusRated in our best plans | 18 to 65 | Age 99 | Not stated | Critical illness | 98.5% | 11.0 |
| Kotak Mahindra Lifee-Term Plan | 18 to 65 | Age 85 | No | Not listed | 98.6% | 6.79 |
| LICDigi-Term | 18 to 45 | Age 75 | No | Not listed | 98.3% | 4.57 |
| LICNew Jeevan Amar | 18 to 65 | Age 80 | No | Not listed | 98.3% | 4.57 |
| LICNew Tech-Term | 18 to 65 | Age 80 | No | Accident | 98.3% | 4.57 |
| LICYuva Term | 18 to 45 | Age 75 | No | Not listed | 98.3% | 4.57 |
| PNB MetLifeDigiProtect Term Plan | 18 to 60 | Age 85 | No | Not listed | 99.4% | 44.33 |
| SBI LifeSmart Shield Plus | 18 to 65 | Age 100 | No | Accident | 99.0% | 5.59 |
| Shriram LifeFlexi Shield | 18 to 65 | Age 100 | Not stated | Critical illness, accident and 2 more | 98.2% | 13.43 |
| Shriram LifeOnline Term Plan | 18 to 55 | Age 75 | No | Not listed | 98.2% | 13.43 |
| Tata AIAMaha Raksha Supreme Select | 18 to 65 | Age 100 | Yes | Not listed | 99.5% | 3.0 |
| Tata AIASampoorna Raksha PromiseRated in our best plans | 18 to 65 | Age 100 | Yes | Critical illness, accident, disability and 2 more | 99.5% | 3.0 |
Entry age and longest cover are the widest each plan allows on at least one option. A variant or a payment term can close sooner, and the plan page says which.
* HDFC Life Click 2 Protect Supreme Plus and Click 2 Protect Super take buyers over 65 only on the Life option, as a single premium, for a basic sum assured of at most ₹50,000.
Return-of-premium version: Yes where the plan sells a version that hands your premiums back if you outlive the cover, No where our record says nothing is paid on survival, and Not stated where our record doesn't say. Some plans without one let you exit late in the term and take premiums back; that is a different feature, described on the plan page.
Riders in our record: Not listed means our record of the plan doesn't cover its riders, not that it has none.
Sources: plan facts from nyvo's policy database, built from each insurer's brochure, prospectus or policy wording. Claim settlement ratio (individual death claims, by number of policies) and complaints per 10,000 claims from IRDAI published data for the last three financial years, latest available as of March 2026. Acko Life and Go Digit Life are too new to have a published ratio.
Why is there no premium column?
Because we only publish premiums we actually hold: ₹1 crore of cover to age 60, for non-smokers aged 25 to 45, on the five plans we rate. A premium column for 32 plans would mean guessing for the rest, so there isn't one. Those real figures are on term insurance quotes by age. For any other cover, age or habit, the premium has to come from a quote on your own details. If you're still working out how much cover to ask for, our guide to how much term cover you need does the sum.
Should you pay extra to get premiums back?
14 of these 32 plans sell a version that pays your premiums back if you're alive when the cover ends. You pay for that refund up front, in a materially higher premium, and it comes back without interest. Run the numbers before you take it: our page on return-of-premium term insurance compares it with plain cover.
The insurer has 15 days to pay
IRDAI requires the insurer to settle a death claim within 15 days of intimation, or 45 days where it investigates (Master Circular on Protection of Policyholders' Interests, 5 September 2024). nyvo helps your nominee with the claim form and documents, and follows up with the insurer, the ombudsman or IRDAI if anything is delayed.