First in India
Claim Support Guarantee, otherwise your money back.
Buy through nyvo and we get your claim passed, otherwise refund your premium. We are putting our money on our claim service.
PRUHealth Guardian Review 2026: Co-pay and Waiting Period
PRUHealth Guardian from Prudential HCL Health Insurance waits 24 months on pre-existing disease, against 36 on the other PRUHealth plans. Co-payment, sub-limits and cover, from the filed prospectus.

PRUHealth Guardian is Prudential HCL Health Insurance's separately filed plan, sold under the promise that there is "no need to worry about your medical history coming in the way". It is filed under UIN PRUHLIP27036V012627, and it carries a mandatory 20% co-payment, published sub-limits on listed illnesses and a once-a-year restoration, none of which the other three PRUHealth brochures list as features of their cover.
The brochure sells it on reassurance rather than on the one number that actually makes the case for it. The filed prospectus sets Guardian's pre-existing disease waiting period at 24 months, where the PRUHealth prospectus covering Protect, Signature and Edge sets it at 36. A year earlier is a real advantage for the buyer this plan is aimed at, and everything below is what it costs.
What the mandatory co-payment actually means
The brochure is direct about it, and lists it in the base cover under the heading "Mandatory Co-Payment": "A 20% co-payment applies on eligible claims, keeping your share clear upfront."
On a ₹5 lakh admissible claim, you pay ₹1 lakh. On a ₹20 lakh claim, you pay ₹4 lakh. It is not something you opt into for a cheaper premium. It is how the plan works.
On Protect, Signature and Edge, co-payment appears only among the add-ons, as an option you can choose in order to reduce what you pay. Guardian is the only one of the four where it is a condition of cover.
There are two further co-payment mechanisms in the same document, both optional. A Co-Payment Option add-on lets you choose an additional level to cut premium. And the Prudential Select Network add-on gives "a 15% premium discount when you use Prudential Select Network hospitals, or pay a 20% co-payment if you choose hospitals outside the network". That second 20% is the other side of the network discount rather than a standing rule, and it applies only if you have taken that add-on. Whether it stacks on the mandatory 20% is not stated, and it is a fair question to put to the insurer.
Sub-limits, the other structural cost
The brochure states, in the base cover: "Listed illness, conditions, and treatments are covered up to defined limits."
Disease-wise sub-limits cap what a policy pays on specific procedures regardless of your sum insured, which is why a plan with sub-limits and a large cover can pay less than a clean plan with a small one. The brochure does not list which illnesses are capped or at what level.
The prospectus does list them, and they are the most important table in this document:
| Listed illness, condition or treatment | Cap at a ₹5 lakh base | Cap at a higher base |
|---|---|---|
| Cerebrovascular and cardiovascular disorders | ₹2,50,000 | ₹3,00,000 |
| Knee replacement surgery | ₹1,00,000 per knee | ₹1,20,000 per knee |
| Hernia surgery | ₹65,000 | ₹80,000 |
| Hysterectomy | ₹65,000 | ₹80,000 |
| Benign prostatic hypertrophy surgery | ₹65,000 | ₹80,000 |
| Surgery for renal stones | ₹65,000 | ₹80,000 |
| Cataract surgery | ₹30,000 per eye | ₹30,000 per eye |
Read the first row twice. A cardiac or stroke admission is capped at ₹2.5 lakh on a ₹5 lakh policy and ₹3 lakh above that, so buying a ₹25 lakh Guardian cover does not buy you ₹25 lakh of cardiac protection. Cardiac events are among the most common large claims in India, and this single line will decide more Guardian claims than the co-payment will.
The prospectus also fixes the order these apply in: any annual aggregate deductible comes off first, then the sub-limit, then the 20% co-payment. Fixed-benefit claims such as daily hospital cash are exempt from the deductible and the co-payment.
The other three brochures do not list sub-limits as a feature of their cover. They do not rule them out either: each disclaimer says cover is "subject to policy terms, conditions, exclusions and sub-limits".
The three clauses the cover does not lead with
The room is a category limit. The base cover reads "Relax with comfort of single private or shared AC room". That is the same kind of room category limit PRUHealth Protect carries, and both PRUHealth Signature and PRUHealth Edge allow any room except a suite. A category limit can trigger a proportionate deduction on room-linked charges if you take a costlier room. A separate Modification of Room Rent add-on lets you drop to a lower or shared category to cut premium, which moves you down from this eligibility rather than up from it.
Restoration happens once. The cover states: "Your cover restores once by up to 100% of your Base Sum Insured from the 2nd claim onwards." On Protect, Signature and Edge the refill is unlimited within the policy year. One refill against unlimited is a headline difference, and it compounds with the second-claim start: if your first claim of the year exhausts the cover, there is no refill for it, and you then get one refill for everything after.
Pre and post hospitalisation are the shortest of the four. Guardian covers 30 days before and 60 days after. Protect and Edge cover 60 and 180, and Signature covers 90 and 180. Pre-hospitalisation cover is where the tests and consultations that precede an admission get paid, and 30 days against 90 is a real gap for someone managing an ongoing condition.
What Guardian gives you that the others do not
Two benefits sit in Guardian's base cover. Neither appears in the other three brochures, though the PRUHealth prospectus does sell both as paid add-ons to those plans, so the difference is that Guardian includes them:
| Benefit | What the brochure states |
|---|---|
| Long stay allowance | Up to ₹15,000 if hospitalisation goes beyond ten days |
| Daily hospital cash | ₹1,000 per day, up to 30 days a year and 7 days per claim |
A third is worth naming although it is an add-on rather than base cover: the Chronic Management Program gives "cashless access to doctor consultations, diagnostic tests, and ongoing support through a partner network for the chronic conditions selected by you". Signature and Edge sell the same programme; Protect's brochure does not list it. For someone managing a long-term condition it is the benefit here that changes daily life rather than just claim outcomes.
Domiciliary hospitalisation, home care, AYUSH, mind care consultations and Child Protect all appear on the other PRUHealth brochures too, so they are not points of difference.
The core cover
| PRUHealth Guardian | |
|---|---|
| Mandatory co-payment | 20% on eligible claims |
| Sub-limits | Yes, on listed illnesses, conditions and treatments |
| Room rent | Single private or shared AC room, a category limit |
| Restoration | Once a year, up to 100% of base, from the second claim onwards |
| Pre-hospitalisation | 30 days |
| Post-hospitalisation | 60 days |
| Hospitalisation and ICU | Covered for illness, injury and surgery |
| Modern and day care procedures | Covered |
| Domiciliary hospitalisation | Covered |
| Home care | Doctor-advised treatment at home, covered |
| AYUSH | Covered |
| Road ambulance | Covered |
| Long stay allowance | Up to ₹15,000 beyond ten days |
| Daily hospital cash | ₹1,000 a day, 30 days a year, 7 per claim |
| Mind care | Four tele and video consultations with a psychologist |
| Loyalty addition | The brochure lists none |
| Sum insured | ₹5 lakh, ₹7.5 lakh, ₹10 lakh, ₹15 lakh or ₹25 lakh (prospectus) |
| Pre-existing disease waiting period | 24 months (prospectus), against 36 on the other three plans |
| Claim order | Deductible, then sub-limit, then the 20% co-payment |
Who this plan is actually for
Someone whose medical history makes clean cover hard to get, who expects to claim on that condition in year three. This is the real case for Guardian, and it is narrower than the marketing suggests. The 24-month waiting period means a declared pre-existing condition is covered a full year before it would be on Protect, Signature or Edge. If your condition is the reason you are buying, that year is the product.
Someone who can pass underwriting elsewhere should price that first. A plan with no mandatory co-payment, no sub-limits and an unlimited restoration pays far more of a large claim. Guardian buys you twelve months; weigh that against a ₹2.5 lakh cap on cardiac treatment for the rest of the policy's life.
Someone managing a named chronic condition, provided the Chronic Management Program is in the quote rather than assumed.
About Prudential Health Insurance
The insurer behind this plan is Prudential HCL Health Insurance Limited, carrying IRDAI registration number 172 and CIN U65120MH2025FLC457866. IRDAI granted its certificate of registration on 29 June 2026, making it India's eighth standalone health insurer (Business Standard).
"Standalone health insurer" is a category rather than a compliment. It means the company writes health, personal accident and travel cover rather than health alongside motor and home, as Star Health, Care Health, Niva Bupa and Aditya Birla Health also do.
It sells four plans, filed as two products:
| Marketed as | Product name in the brochure | UIN |
|---|---|---|
| PRUHealth Protect | PRUHealth | PRUHLIP27035V012627 |
| PRUHealth Signature | PRUHealth | PRUHLIP27035V012627 |
| PRUHealth Edge | PRUHealth | PRUHLIP27035V012627 |
| PRUHealth Guardian | PRUHealth Guardian | PRUHLIP27036V012627 |
Protect, Signature and Edge share one UIN and one product name, so they are three variants of a single filing rather than three competing products. Guardian is separately filed. A UIN is the Unique Identification Number IRDAI assigns to each filed product, and it is the only reliable way to tell whether two things being sold to you are actually two things.
As of September 2026 there is no published claim settlement ratio and no complaint ratio. IRDAI compiles both over completed financial years; registered in June 2026, this company's first full year ends 31 March 2027, so the annual report for 2026-27 is the earliest either figure can appear. That is a fact about the age of the insurer rather than a criticism, but it removes the two measures buyers normally use to separate insurers, and it means anyone quoting you a settlement ratio for Prudential is quoting something that does not exist. What is left to judge is the wording, which is why this page spends its time there.
FAQs
Does PRUHealth Guardian have a co-payment?
Yes, a mandatory 20% co-payment on eligible claims, listed in the base cover. It is a condition of the plan rather than an option, so on a ₹5 lakh claim you pay ₹1 lakh. Two further co-payment mechanisms are optional add-ons.
Is PRUHealth Guardian good for pre-existing conditions?
Better than its siblings on the one measure that matters most there: the filed prospectus sets its pre-existing disease waiting period at 24 months, where PRUHealth Protect, Signature and Edge all wait 36. The trade is a mandatory 20% co-payment, published sub-limits including a ₹2.5 lakh cap on cardiac and cerebrovascular treatment, and a single restoration a year.
Does PRUHealth Guardian have sub-limits?
Yes, and the prospectus publishes them. At a ₹5 lakh base sum insured: cardiovascular and cerebrovascular treatment ₹2,50,000, knee replacement ₹1,00,000 per knee, hernia, hysterectomy, BPH surgery and renal stone surgery ₹65,000 each, cataract ₹30,000 per eye. The caps rise modestly at higher sums insured, to ₹3,00,000 for cardiac treatment.
When does restoration start on PRUHealth Guardian, and how often?
From the second claim onwards, and it restores once. The other three PRUHealth plans refill an unlimited number of times in the policy year.
What is the waiting period on PRUHealth Guardian?
The pre-existing disease waiting period is 24 months of continuous coverage, and the initial waiting period is 30 days. The 24 months is a year shorter than PRUHealth Protect, Signature and Edge, all of which wait 36 months. The brochure does not mention it.
What is the sum insured on PRUHealth Guardian?
₹5 lakh, ₹7.5 lakh, ₹10 lakh, ₹15 lakh or ₹25 lakh, per the filed prospectus. The brochure does not state the range. Note that the sub-limits mean a larger sum insured does not lift the cap on listed treatments by much.
Is PRUHealth Guardian the same product as PRUHealth Protect?
No. Guardian is separately filed under UIN PRUHLIP27036V012627. Protect, Signature and Edge all share a different UIN, PRUHLIP27035V012627, and are variants of one product.
nyvo does not distribute Prudential HCL Health Insurance plans. This page is an explainer read from the insurer's own brochure. Booking a call gets you help comparing what is on this page against the plans nyvo does advise on; it is not a route to buying this one.
PRUHealth Guardian, at a glance
| What it is | a separately filed health plan from Prudential HCL Health Insurance. Product name PRUHealth Guardian, UIN PRUHLIP27036V012627. Its cover promises there is no need to worry about your medical history coming in the way. |
|---|---|
| Sum insured | ₹5 lakh, ₹7.5 lakh, ₹10 lakh, ₹15 lakh or ₹25 lakh. The brochure does not state this; the filed prospectus does. |
| The reason to consider it | the prospectus sets the pre-existing disease waiting period at 24 months, against 36 months on Protect, Signature and Edge. That is the plan's real advantage and the brochure never mentions it. |
| The price of that | a mandatory 20% co-payment on eligible claims, a condition of the cover rather than an option. |
| Sub-limits | published in the prospectus, and tight. At a ₹5 lakh base: cardiovascular and cerebrovascular treatment capped at ₹2.5 lakh, knee replacement ₹1 lakh per knee, hernia, hysterectomy, BPH and renal stones ₹65,000 each, cataract ₹30,000 per eye. |
| Restoration | once a policy year, up to 100% of base, from the second claim onwards. The other three refill unlimited times. |
| Room rent | a single private or shared AC room, a category limit. |
| Pre and post hospitalisation | 30 days before, 60 days after, the shortest of the four. |
| Claim order | any deductible first, then the sub-limit, then the 20% co-payment. Fixed-benefit claims are exempt from the deductible and co-payment. |
| Loyalty addition | the brochure lists none. |
Read from Prudential's own PRUHealth Guardian brochure and its filed prospectus, September 2026. The waiting periods, sum insured range and sub-limits here come from the prospectus; the brochure states none of them.
Book a call for advice on the best policy for you and your family
A salaried, IRDAI-certified nyvo advisor will look at your cover, flag the gaps that matter, and tell you plainly what to fix. No commission, no pressure.
A first in India
Buy policy from nyvo insurance with Claim Support Guarantee, otherwise money back.



